The Pacific Islands Forum

18 Countries and Territories. One Blue Pacific Continent

The Pacific Islands Forum brings the region together to address pressing issues and challenges, and foster collaboration and cooperation in the pursuit of shared goals. Founded in 1971, it comprises 18 members: Australia, Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, French Polynesia, Kiribati, Nauru, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Republic of Marshall Islands, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, and Vanuatu.

Our vision is for a resilient Pacific region of peace, harmony, security, social inclusion and prosperity, that ensures all Pacific peoples can lead free, healthy and productive lives.

Pacific Leaders recognise that securing our future cannot simply be left to chance. 

It requires a long-term vision and a carefully considered regional strategy that reinforces commitment and working together to leverage our collective strengths and build a better future for our people.

 2050 Strategy for the Blue Pacific Continent 

2050 Strategy Implementation Plan (2023-2030)


Annual Forum Meetings

Annual Forum Meetings

  • Forum Officials Committees
  • Economic Ministers Meeting
  • Foreign Ministers Meeting
  • Trade Ministers Meeting
  • Women Leaders Meeting
  • Smaller Islands States Leaders Meeting

The priority issues from these meetings then inform discussions at the Pacific Islands Forum Leaders Meeting. 

The annual Forum meetings are chaired by the Head of Government of the Host Country, who remains as the Forum Chair until the next meeting. Decisions made by Leaders are reached by consensus and are outlined in a Forum Communique, which guides the development and implementation of policies.

Agreed regional policies and initiatives are coordinated by the Pacific Islands Forum Secretariat, working with the Council of Regional Organisations of the Pacific (CROP).